24/7 Service, Same Day Diagnostics

SSAE 16 Type II SOC 1 Certified Company
Home  » Certifications » SSAE 16

Safe Data Recovery with a SSAE 16 Type II SOC 1 Certification

At Secure Data Recovery Services, we believe in providing our clients with accurate, transparent information about our security systems. We were the first data recovery company in the United States to earn SSAE 16 Type II certification, which demonstrates our commitment to confidentiality, and we maintain this certification through regular attestations.

SSAE 16 Type II Data Recovery

Always work with a certified data recovery provider to protect mission-critical files from unauthorized access.

Compromised security can lead to costly compliance violations for any business that regularly handles sensitive information. To keep your data confidential, you need to work with a qualified provider, and SSAE 16 attestation gives you a simple way to evaluate your contractors before trusting them with financial data.

View our SSAE 16 Type II SOC 1 audit compliance report below:

Our SSAE 16 Type II compliance report provides an excellent overview of all of our security systems and controls. While many of our competitors claim compliance with SAS 70 and SSAE 16 Type II, we are one of the only companies in the industry providing full access to our attestation reports and other relevant documents.

We also post our certification documents online, and by using advanced networks and staff security protocols, we have developed an effective long-term strategy to maintain excellent security systems at our facilities. We always use appropriate methods to protect data, and when using our services, you will always get the peace of mind that comes from working with a secure provider.

The Importance of SSAE 16 Type II SOC 1 Data Recovery

SSAE stands for Statement on Standards for Attestation Engagements. As of June of 2011, SSAE 16 is the active attestation standard for security systems with confidential payment data.

SOC Data Recovery

As a fully certified provider, we treat all data in accordance with SSAE 16 Type II standards.

The SSAE 16 document essentially provides an updated version of SAS 70 standards, which publicly traded companies in the United States have used to ensure data security since the 1990s. The purpose of both standards is to prevent security flaws from compromising financial information.

While they are inherently similar, SSAE 16 Type II and SAS 70 standards have a few key differences. SSAE 16 Type II standards place requirements on "systems" rather than "controls." While this seems like a minor distinction, it allows for a much more comprehensive approach to security. Data recovery companies need to completely rethink their networking and media handling procedures in order to stay compliant.

Unlike SAS 70 standards, SSAE 16 Type II standards require managerial reporting and oversight. Our team is directly involved in the attestation process, and if our security systems fail to meet set standards, management is directly accountable. This ensure consistent long-term security. Data recovery companies must provide clear evidence of their security systems in order to comply with SSAE 16 Type II SOC 1 specifications. Because of this, compliance is an involved, time-consuming process.

Secure Data Recovery Services' SSAE 16 Type II certification was completed under SOC 1 standards. SOC stands for Service Organization Control, and SOC 1 is designed specifically for data service businesses and organizations; the other SOC standards are not appropriate for the data recovery industry. SOC 2 is a restricted report designed primarily for data centers, software-as-a-services (SaaS) businesses and other organizations, and SOC 3 is a general-use report that uses the same principles as SOC 2. All data recovery vendors should offer access to a completed SSAE 16 Type II SOC 1 report in order to demonstrate compliance.

We use SSAE 16 Type II certified networks and procedures when performing all of our services including:

  • Hard Drive Data Recovery
  • RAID Repair and Data Recovery
  • Virtual Server Recovery
  • Computer Repair
  • Computer Forensics, Data Tape Transfer and More

Overall, SSAE 16 greatly improves upon SAS 70, providing much-needed updates that directly reflect data recovery security. Data recovery companies need to follow the newer standards in order to keep sensitive data confidential, and businesses of all sizes need to insist on SSAE 16 Type II certification to avoid serious security risks. We proudly post proof of our SSAE 16 Type II SOC 1 certification to give our clients unprecedented access to key security information.

A New Standard for Data Recovery Security

We take every possible step to protect our clients' confidentiality while providing our services. In addition to SSAE 16 Type II SOC 1 certification, we hold credentials that show our compliance with various other standards.

SSAE 16 Type II SOC 1 Data Recovery

All data recovery providers should follow SSAE 16 Type II standards when handling client data.

Our security credentials include:

  • Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) Compliance
  • Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI-DSS) Compliance
  • SAS 70 Compliance and More

Important data needs appropriate protection. At Secure Data Recovery Services, we use the best information security in the industry, and we proudly provide our clients with full access to our attestation reports. As the first provider with a SSAE 16 Type II certification, we hold our facilities to exceptionally high standards. If you have any questions about our data recovery security systems or if you need to make additional arrangements for high-security data recovery, contact our customer service team today at 1-800-388-1266.

Back to Top