1-800-388-1266

24/7 Service, Same Day Diagnostics

Subscribe me
* This field is required
Our Latest Tweets

How To Turn Off Your iPhone’s Sneaky Location Tracking Feature

The iPhone Location Tracking Feature

Today, privacy seems to be a hot topic. Within the last few months, Amazon and Google were under fire for the security flaws in their Nest, Ring, and Alexa devices. This privacy warning sparked consumers to begin researching just what their personal devices were collecting on them. All of the speculation, wonder, and worry led to users discovering a setting in their iPhone’s location that stores every address that a user’s been and how many times they’ve been there.

Now, before you rush to your nearest Apple store demanding your money back, know that the feature can be turned off and that the information is only on your phone and NOT shared with Apple.

How To Turn Off iPhone Location Settings

Buried deep within the jungle of iPhone settings, is the System Services option. Apple states the service allows your iPhone to learn places that are significant to you to provide user location information in Maps, Calendar, Photos, and more. They list that the information is encrypted and cannot be read or seen by Apple. Even to open the Significant Locations option requires either FaceID, TouchID, or passcode.

However, getting this is no easy journey and any iPhone user unaware would most likely never venture there. Here is a step by step guide to shutting off your System Services on your phone.

First, open the settings app on your iPhone and navigate to privacy. 

 

Second, navigate to Location Services

Third, scroll down to the bottom where you’ll find the System Services.

Fourth, you will be on the Significant Locations option. Then you will be prompted to unlock this with either FaceID, TouchID, or passcode. Once in, you will be able to control what happens with the device. From here you can see where Apple tracked you, and toggle it on or off. However, before toggling it off, make sure you clear out the data first.

Conclusion

Privacy continues to be the center of Apple’s platform and will continue to be in the future. However, this can make one wonder just how much information is stored on them. If that is the case, Apple will let you download all of the data collected on you through the iCloud website. The website will also allow you to delete all of your information Apple collected on you and stop them from getting your information.

Have you recently encountered an issue with your Apple device and loss of data? If so, contact us today at 800-388-1266.

Request Help
Call for Immediate Assistance
1-800-388-1266
24 Hour Service Expert Hotline
Alternatively, you can also fill out
a request help form online
Submit Help Request
Article Search
Secured & Certified

1-800-388-1266

We are
Available